35 Days of Favorites: Homemade Toilet Cleaner

This post is part of a series called “35 Days of Favorites”, in honor of my 35th birthday. You can read more about the details here

Alright, yesterday I wrote about how I buy natural laundry detergent, but today I’m sharing about how easy it is to clean your toilet with ingredients you have in your kitchen.

I used to buy the Norwex toilet cleaner, but it’s fairly pricey, so I switched to the homemade, because it’s the easiest thing ever.

Here’s what you do:

1) Pour about cup of vinegar into the toilet.

2) Sprinkle baking soda into the toilet.

3) Let it sit and fizz for about 10 minutes while you clean the rest of the bathroom.

4) Scrub with a brush, and you’re done.

It works fantastically well, it’s cheap and easy, and chemical-free. I keep a jug of vinegar and a box of baking soda with my cleaning supplies (which basically consist of a Norwex mop and rags).

bathroomI struggled with what kind of picture to include with this post – a photo of just a toilet wasn’t appealing to me, so here’s one of the whole bathroom!

For those of you who love your chemicals, you will be happy to know that I’m done with natural cleaning products posts now. There might be a few other natural things popping up, but this is it for the housecleaning!

And tell me: do you prefer chemical cleaners or natural products? Do you use a bit of both? Any products you can’t give up, no matter how bad they might be for the environment? (I confess – I have a bottle of Shout stain remover, for those emergencies when nothing else will do! There are some situations in which chemicals do a better job!)

7 thoughts on “35 Days of Favorites: Homemade Toilet Cleaner

    • Ha, you’re right, Patti, there is definitely a chemical reaction going on in the toilet when I mix vinegar and baking soda! I should describe store-bought cleaners differently, but I’m not sure how! But a simple mixture of baking soda and vinegar would be quite different than the ingredients of regular cleaning products. I’m pretty sure there are a number of ingredients in toilet bowl cleaners that we wouldn’t eat for lunch!

  1. Oh how I also love my stain remover. I tried so hard to use natural stain removers, but with three kids…that just isn’t realistic. So many stains! I decided to just go ahead and use the best stain remover that I could find in order to save clothes that I would otherwise have to throw away. I also use a store bought spray in my shower. It’s in the basement and is prone to stubborn mildew. Again…after using natural products and a lot of elbow grease, I finally succumbed to a store bought spray which actually takes care of the problem. In that case we’re either breathing a little bleach or a lot of mold. Neither are desirable! Thankfully everything else can be cleaned with vinegar. I love cleaning with vinegar! Going to try your toilet bowl cleaner recipe! That’s awesome!

  2. Several years ago when I went to my first Norwex party I was sold on the “natural” way. Until one year when the stomach flu hit our house. I couldn’t imagine cleaning with water and a “special” cloth was going to be good enough, so I brought back the chemical cleaners. Now I only use Norwex cloths for cleaning mirrors and dusting, etc. but I’m a chemical cleaner with everything else. 😦

    • I can totally relate to the doubts about how well Norwex is actually getting rid of the germs. Especially in the beginning, it felt weird to only clean with water, and nothing smelled “clean” without the scent of commercial cleaners! I don’t know what made me get over my doubts, exactly. I guess I just got used to Norwex, and I tried to keep track of how often our family was getting sick each winter. Since we get sick less than we used to, and our house seems clean to me, I guess I just stopped worrying about it!

      But I would imagine that in your line of work, you would run into problems if you turned anti-commercial cleaners!

Join in the discussion!

