35 Days of Favorites: Natural Laundry Detergent

This post is part of a series called “35 Days of Favorites”, in honor of my 35th birthday. You can read more about the details here

It was a sad, sad day for me when my good friend, who also happens to be a Norwex consultant, told me that Norwex would be doubling the price of their laundry detergent.

I love that stuff. I used it for a few years, but there was no way I could justify paying twice as much for a bag of it, so we sadly parted ways.

I used some natural liquid detergent that I found at Vita Health, but I wanted something cheaper.

Thinking homemade laundry detergent might be my only option, I went in search of washing soda, which is one of the ingredients found in most recipes for homemade detergent. I couldn’t find it anywhere it Winnipeg (although it can be found in Steinbach at Superstore), but when I stopped at London Drugs to look for it, I found my new love:

Laundry Detergent

This stuff is cheap, natural, and lasts forever. (We have a front loading washing machine, so I only need to use 1 teaspoon of detergent.)

Yes, I could make my own, but when it’s this cheap, I will happily buy my little tin with the very perky lady on it and be thankful. Three cheers for Nellie.

Any natural household products you love to buy? Recipes for homemade stuff that you’d like to share?

5 thoughts on “35 Days of Favorites: Natural Laundry Detergent

  1. Looks like Nellie could convince anybody that doing laundry is her favorite activity! I use white vinegar a lot. I’ve heard you can cleaning everything in your house with varying combinations of vinegar and baking soda!

    • Ha, yes, Nellie looks like she loves laundry a lot! And you’re providing the perfect foreshadowing for my post tomorrow on what I clean with vinegar and baking soda!

  2. Love this! Finally something that is cheaper and also natural! I’ll have to pass this brand onto others whom I know have stopped using the Norwex detergent because it’s just too expensive. I use vinegar to clean pretty much everything in my house On “floor” days my whole house reeks of vinegar! I have a spray bottle with vinegar/water combo (about half and half) in it. I spray my floors and then mop with my Norwex mop. Sometimes one of the boys will spray the floor for me. A very fun little task for them!

    • I did actually try buying Shaklee products a few years ago, because of your recommendations! The dealer never returned my phone call, though, and Juls started selling Norwex at that time. If she hadn’t, maybe I’d be a Shaklee fan today!

Join in the discussion!

