Birthday Favorites: Food

Hey, Friends! It’s that time again – this week is my birthday, and it’s tradition around here to share everything I’m loving right now, and the things that have made this last year enjoyable/delicious/successful/positive in any way.:)

Leave a comment sharing YOUR favorites, and you’ll be entered in a draw for a prize….

Today we’re talking about food! I love talking about food. I love making it, photographing it, studying new recipes for it, and…EATING it!:)

Here are my favorite things to eat right now:

Breakfast: Baked Apple Pancake

I will always and forever love my green smoothie for breakfast – I told Anika this morning that when I’m an old lady in a nursing home, she needs to come bring me green smoothies.

BUT. If I’m going to eat anything else, this baked apple pancake is my new favorite. I kinda made up the recipe. I cut up three apples and fried them in lots of butter and cinnamon, and then dumped them into a 9×13 pan once they were soft. Then I mixed up this pancake batter, and poured it over the apples. I baked it at 350 until it felt firm to the touch, about half an hour.

wpid-wp-1404318561280.jpeg

Lunch: Salads!

I don’t really have recipes for these – I just kind of throw together whatever looks good. I love having tons of fresh vegetables and herbs on hand, and making it a really filling salad with chicken or avocados and cooked eggs. I love experimenting with different oils, seasonings, and dressings.

salad

Supper: Chip Potatoes

This is something I made up this last winter, and everybody in our family loves it, so we keep making it. So simple – just slice up potatoes super thin, cover it with chunks of butter and lots of sea salt.

potatoesBake it at 400 for 30 minutes, or until the potatoes start getting all brown and crispy.

potatoes

Best Restaurant I Ate at This Year: Buccacino’s!

A few weeks ago, I was going out for dinner with a friend, and we couldn’t decide where to eat. I was in the mood for something new and different – the fantastic food on my trip to Ottawa had left me craving something exciting. We quickly googled gluten-free restaurants in Winnipeg, and chose Buccacino’s. It’s so delicious, I can’t wait to go back!

Besides the fact that I’m in Food Heaven whenever I can eat gluten-free pasta, I also was quite impressed with the reasonable prices.

New Recipes:

Because I’m constantly trying new recipes, it’s hard to choose just one favorite, so here are a few that we’ve been enjoying, in case you’re in need of some new ideas!

Best Ever Beef Stew

Veggie and Brown Rice Noodle Bowl

Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Blender Muffins

Energizing Protein Power Salad

Your turn! What are your favorite foods, recipes, and restaurants? I want to hear all about it!:)

10 thoughts on “Birthday Favorites: Food

  1. One favourite food our whole family loves is called Crockpot Cream Cheese Chicken. It’s so simple, it’s ridiculous!
    Easiest Dinner Ever. (frozen chicken, cream cheese, black beans(drained and rinsed), corn, and a jar or salsa. Cook all day in crockpot. Shred chicken and serve in tortillas or over chips.

    • Hmm, I wonder what the chances would be of finding gluten/dairy/sugar free menu items at a Thai restaurant? I haven’t explored that option before, but I love coconut rice!

  2. I love baked apple pancakes, thankfully my original recipe worked to convert into a gluten, dairy and sugar free version! One of my favourite new recipes is a paleo blueberry muffin recipe. I’ve found that it’s fabulous for any fruit – Pear with cinnamon, rhubarb and shredded coconut or the original blueberry and almond extract. It even tastes good the next day, which you don’t often say when using a grain based gluten free flour. I use xylitol as our sweetener instead of coconut sugar. It can be found at http://www.everydaymaven.com/2013/paleo-blueberry-muffins/

  3. One of our favorite restaurants is Mongo’s Grill. But, you know that, Kendra. 🙂 Some people like the possibility of something different every time. My stir-fry usually turns out pretty much the same. It’s so delicious that I surely don’t mind.

  4. Mmmm….FOOD!! One of my favorite topics! 🙂

    Les & I tried a new restaurant several months ago that we really both enjoyed – the Oakwood Cafe. We haven’t been back yet, but we certainly will! And it’s an added bonus that there’s a coupon in the show & save book!

    And speaking of favorite restaurants – we did try Taco del Mar after I read about it from you here and we all love that place too! (although I’m sad that they don’t have kids-eat-free Sundays anymore…)

    For food that I make at home…I’ll admit, I’m not a very adventurous cook. I like to stick with what I know and what I like. My favorite home-made meals are Mexican – enchiladas and tacos specifically. Yum. Now I’m really hungry! Good thing it’s almost suppertime. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Eating Gluten-Free With Kids | Ordinary Days

Join in the discussion!