DIY Cleaning and Personal Care Products

This post is part of a series on all the things I’m enjoying right now. I’d love to hear what you’re loving at the moment – all comments during this series will be entered in a draw for an Amazon gift card, so don’t be shy about what is making your life just a little bit better right now! 

Am I allowed to re-favourite something?! Today I want to share my favourite recipes for homemade personal care products and household cleaners, and I’m pretty sure I’ve shared them here before, but this year, I grew a new appreciation for them.

You know how life happens and sometimes, even though you love doing something, you just kind of stop doing it somehow? That’s what happened to me. I was making my own toothpaste, and then one day I ran out, and instead of making more, I grabbed Ben’s toothpaste. And then there was a sale on dishwasher detergent at Costco one day, and Ben likes bought soap better than my homemade concoction, so we started using that all the time. Anika likes my homemade deodorant better than bought stuff (smart girl – it’s actually the best deodorant I’ve ever used, even if it’s natural and homemade!), but it’s so cold in the basement during the summer that her deodorant froze! So I started buying stuff for her instead of making it.

Suddenly, there we were, with lots of empty little jars that I used to keep full.

A few things happened. I have sensitive teeth, and they started hurting like crazy from the bought toothpaste. Anika ran out of bought deodorant, so I finally got back to making the homemade stuff. I started keeping a closer eye on our budget this last year, and was reminded that it is a huge savings to make our own dishwasher soap, and takes two seconds.

So now we’re back, and I’m loving it, and feeling thankful that I came across these recipes years ago. They work, they’re cheap and natural, and are super fast and easy to mix together.

Here are my favourites:

Deodorant (click for the recipe)

Toothpaste (click for the recipe)

Retainer Cleaner

*I was told to use denture cleaner for my retainer, but after googling it, I found out you can just put a little bit of baking soda and water in a cup, and it will do the same thing! That one is so easy, it’s not even a recipe. 🙂

Foaming Soap

*Fill a foaming soap dispenser with water and add 1 tablespoon of Castile soap. You can also add essential oil if you want more of a scent, but I just leave it plain.:)

Toilet Cleaner

I used to mix this with measurements, but it’s so much easier just to put vinegar in a spray bottle, and keep baking soda in the bathroom. Spray the toilet, shake in some baking soda, and scrub away! Someone asked me if the smell of vinegar lingers, but it doesn’t for more than a minute or two. There is no smell afterwards, which is the smell of “clean” to me now! I used to think “clean” smelled like heavily scented cleaners, but now I love the absence of smell!

Dishwasher Detergent

*Mix equal parts Borax and Washing Soda. Adding a small squirt of liquid detergent when you put it in the dishwasher helps get the dishes shinier.

Do you like to use natural cleaners? Any other recipes you’d like to share? 

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “DIY Cleaning and Personal Care Products

  1. I also use the same recipe for deodorant and will never go back to store bought either natural or traditional products. I love the homemade stuff!
    I also make homemade dishwasher detergent but my recipe is 3/4 cup washing soda, 1/4 cup citric acid crystals mixed together in a jar. Add 1 tbsp to the dishwasher and I like to add a few drops of tea tree oil to the powder once in the machine.
    Have you ever tried using soap nuts to make liquid laundry soap? I love it, I can’t use any unscented store bought laundry soap as it still is scented and causes asthma problems in my household. A kg of nuts lasts about a year and a half for us when I make liquid detergent and not just use the nuts in my washing machine (which some people do). It is extremely cost effective. https://www.amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/B00I5O4E00/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1500587366&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=Soap%2Bnuts&dpPl=1&dpID=41QUzP1jZoL&ref=plSrch&th=1&psc=1

  2. After having extreme allergies around my eyes I am a true believer in coconut oil and shea butter! That’s the “makeup” I put on my face, and the rest of my body and also as deodorant!!! I shall have to try the dishwasher detergent!

  3. Thanks for these recipes! I am definitely going to try the deodorant and the toothpaste! I have been using a natural deodorant called LaVanille that I LOVE but it is extremely hard to find. So I will give the homemade a shot! For cleaners I like Malaleuca’s cleaner a lot actually. I am usually not one for buying those type of products but I gave them a try and am actually really pleased with how well they work. I don’t think they are all natural but they are non toxic.

Join in the discussion!

