Summer Reading

I just received a package from Amazon full of beautiful, beautiful books, just in time for me to start enjoying them on our week of vacation! I can’t wait to dig in.;) Here’s what I’ll be reading for the rest of the summer:

Boundaries1) Boundaries

I actually ordered this one already, but in my excitement over a lower price, somehow I failed to notice that it was the miniature edition! Oops. But it gave me a great overview, and was a very fast read, since it’s just a summary of the complete book, and I can’t believe how much even the mini book has been teaching me.

I’m starting to see that enforcing personal boundaries has been a huge issue for most of my life, and has led to a lot of stress and negative habits. As a middle child, I’ve always struggled with people-pleasing tendencies, and have a hard time being honest about what I really want, without feeling like I’m being rude or difficult. This book is helping me to see where I need to be a lot more honest, and make choices for my own health and well-being, without feeling like I’m being selfish.

 

 

Scary Close2) Scary Close

We’re on a relationship theme here! I love anything written by Donald Miller – he is such a fantastic storyteller, and I’ve heard really good things about this book. I would have wanted to read it anyway, but am even more excited about it now, because of the things I’ve been learning from reading Boundaries.

 

 

 

 

 

73) 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess

This one has been on my Wish List the longest. It goes along nicely with my purging goal for this year, as it focuses on learning to live without some things. I’m intrigued by Jen Hatmaker’s very intentional effort to dig into this topic together with her family.

 

 

 

 

 

Tidying4) The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up

More purging inspiration! This book has been popping up everywhere, and I can’t wait to find out why everyone loves it so much. I’ve read that you should not read it while on vacation, because you will be itching to get home and start tossing out your belongings, so I’ll save this one until we get back from the lake!

But I do have to admit – even simply owning this book has already motivated me! I keep walking through my house, thinking, “I should quickly grab those things and tidy up a bit – it’s pretty magical!”

It could be this book that enables me to purge 850 more items, and reach my goal: 2015 items sent out of the house in 2015!!

 

I’ve had blog readers ask me in the past, “What’s with all the self-help books?! Why don’t you read some fiction?” And really, I passionately love reading fiction. Too passionately. It makes me incredibly grumpy to read fiction, because I don’t want anyone to talk to me at all, until I’m finished the book. I don’t stop reading until 2am. And then I’m even more grumpy the next day, because I’m so tired. I used to save reading fiction for on vacation, as a fun way of relaxing, but then I realized that it made me unpleasant to be on vacation with. So now, I pretty much don’t read fiction, except aloud to the girls.:)

What have you been reading lately? I love hearing about good books, so please share your favorites!!

5 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. I need to check out that last title. It sounds like something I could seriously benefit from. Thanks for sharing the great reviews!

    If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

  2. Kendra:
    I have been to RRBC MD camp many years when you were our MC. Thank you. Your book selection is spooky for me. I have almost completed reading “the life changing magic…”, I was recently given “scary close” by a colleague and hope to read it over the next 2 weeks of vacation, the 7 experiment – was the topic of last year’s women’s study group and Boundaries is in the office library where I work and it is referred to more than once a week. We seem to be on the same page – however, I think you have been having more success at the tidying than I have. 🙂 Really enjoyed the presence of God quote.

    • Oh, my goodness, that is crazy!! Tell me what books you’ll be reading next, since it’s almost prophetic of what’s coming next in my life!!;) I’d love to hear your thoughts on your recent reading – has your life been changed from tidying yet? And you are you enjoying Scary Close?

  3. Love this post!! I feel like we have some sort of common wave length (maybe we just read the same blogs!!) I am reading boundaries too and have these other books on my wishlist! Happy reading!

    • That’s so interesting! What are your thoughts on “Boundaries”? I’m almost done ” Scary Close “, and it’s soooo good! Life changing.I’ve got a lot to chew on!

Join in the discussion!

