Birthday Favorites: Blog Reading

Hey, Friends! It’s that time again – this week is my birthday, and it’s tradition around here to share everything I’m loving right now, and the things that have made this last year enjoyable/delicious/successful/positive in any way.:)

Leave a comment sharing YOUR favorites, and you’ll be entered in a draw for a prize….

Today I want to share a bunch of blogs that I enjoy on a regular basis, but I’d love to hear what your favorites are, too!

1) Spiritual Growth Blog: A Holy Experience

How does Ann Voskamp do it? Day after day, she writes these deep, thought-provoking posts, and takes the most beautiful photography. Almost every blog post leaves me with something profound to chew on.

2) Food Blog: Oh She Glows

This has been my favorite for years, and I’ve used it even more in the last year than ever before. Any time I need a salad or dessert recipe, or new lunch ideas, I am never disappointed with this blog. She just came out with a cookbook this year, which is definitely on my birthday list!

3) Simple/Minimalist Living: Becoming Minimalist

This is the blog that keeps me purging our closets and cupboards. Joshua Becker has such a down-to-earth approach about how to live simply, and figure out what we truly need to enjoy life, and what we can leave behin.

4) Organizing Blog: I Heart Organizing

So many cute ideas for making organizing pretty!

5) Sewing/Fashion Blog: Merrick’s Art

This is the blog that has me buying Target maxi skirts in the wrong size, because now I know how easy it is to alter stuff. Her sewing projects make everything look easy.

6) Decorating Blog: Centsational Girl

LOVE all her decorating ideas. I also really enjoy her “Best of the Blogosphere” posts for decorating ideas.

7) Photography/Memory Keeping Blog: Ali Edwards

I have loved Ali Edwards’ stuff for years. Such fantastic photography, and she is the classiest scrapbooker around. I love looking at her stuff, even though I don’t scrapbook anymore – I just love getting ideas for digital scrapbooking, and seeing how she documents stuff.

8) Health/Wellness Blog: Wellness Mama

She has a natural remedy for everything. I’ve learned a ton from her blog.

9) Photography/Story-Telling Blog: Enjoying the Small Things

Amazing photography, and I just love how she writes about her life. Her blog post about finding out that her newborn had Down Syndrome is the most beautiful blog post I’ve ever read.

10) Simple/Natural Living: Shalom Mama

She lives in a bus with her husband and four kids! Love reading her view on things, and cannot imagine doing life that way, but it intrigues me!

There are so many blogs to enjoy out there – totally understand the need for balance, and not letting it take over too much, time, but these are the ten that I look forward to reading the most! What are you enjoying?

4 thoughts on “Birthday Favorites: Blog Reading

  1. Honestly, the blog I follow most would be yours! Your insights for life always keep me thinking, recipes, and keeping up with your family when we don’t see each other for a long while 🙂

  2. I really enjoy Jen Hatmaker’s blog. She has a sarcastic wit that I really enjoy. She’s not for everyone, but I have laughed out loud SO MANY times when reading her posts. I find her writing an interesting mix of very serious, thought-provoking topics and also just hilarious, crazy stuff. What I really enjoy is that she makes no apologies for that. I’ve heard her speak several times and really loved that mix in her speaking as well. If someone has never heard of her, I’m sort of jealous of the gold mine of fun stuff they could find if they just found her blog now!

  3. I have really fallen off of the blog-reading band wagon lately (well, and the blog POSTING band-wagon too, which is probably mostly due to my picture-a-day blog). I have to say that – honestly – yours is the one I read the most often. And I’m not just saying that to suck up. 🙂

Join in the discussion!

