To Remember Every Morning…

There’s a verse in Colossians that’s been on my mind for almost a week – so much to chew on! This is what it says:

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.” (Col. 3:12)

The whole passage is great, but this verse is the one that’s staying with me. We talked about it at my Sunday school class on Sunday, and spent time praying through the passage. I found it so interesting when one man said, “It doesn’t say anywhere that we will feel these things – it just commands us to put them on.”

We do it out of obedience. For so long, I kept thinking I needed to feel something before it would fully be a part of me, and how I would respond to something – I had to feel things like forgiveness or patience. But this list doesn’t even come from me in the first place – I am struck by the fact that I can ask God to put these things on me. The compassion and kindness and everything else comes from Him, so I’d like to have the Holy Spirit dress me every morning!

Someone suggested that we post these verses in our closets, so we’d see them every morning, but I decided to memorize them. It’s always better when the words are right in my head, popping up at the most awkward times!!

It happened just the other day – I was having a rough day, and wasn’t feeling very patient about the task before me. Immediately, I remembered, “Clothe yourself…” I started praying for the Holy Spirit to put on each of those qualities, and while I’m still human, and won’t get it right every time, I noticed such a difference in how things went after that.

Oh, that I would remember to put on what’s most important each morning!!

clothes

Join in the discussion!

