Comfort Food, Comfort Photos

After Monday’s post, I feel as though I don’t have much left to say, for now. (I’m sure that will change shortly…)

I feel as though I’m in the mood for a nice, comfortable post, with nice, comfortable pictures.

girls

Apparently, I’m after comfort today. I did a little bit of comfort eating earlier. A long day led to me finishing off a bag of chips in my closet, so I wouldn’t have to share any with my children. I can’t even imagine my mom doing anything half so selfish when I was a kid. But then, I guess I wouldn’t know if she had. But I’m pretty sure she didn’t.

However, I’ve decided not to tell myself I’m a bad mom anymore. It’s so discouraging, and not really accurate. I’m a good mom who makes mistakes sometimes. I’m a work in progress. And I fed my girlies toasted waffles, to make up for the chip thing.

girls

 

I totally forgot my poor husband in the city today.

What??! I know.

We drove into Winnipeg together this morning, and then I went off to a bunch of appointments, and took the girls to their last swimming lesson. After that, I was merrily driving home, when Ben called my cell phone. EVEN THEN, my first thought was, “Oh, I wonder why Ben is calling??”

No recollection, whatsoever. Brutal.

I was already almost home, so fortunately, Ben was able to catch a ride home from the city with a friend. SO GLAD I didn’t need to drive all the way back to Winnipeg again! Then I might have needed a bit more than just chips in my closet….

But we will press on. I’m a good wife who makes mistakes sometimes…Oh, boy.

Any other confessions out there??! How’s your week going?:)

3 thoughts on “Comfort Food, Comfort Photos

  1. This week I put my 1 year old daughter in front of the Wiggles more times than I am really comfortable with because there have been way too many overwhelming moments. I think about the mom I was when I had my first child, and how I would have judged a mom like I am now so very harshly. It hits me at my core. Like you, I also have been pondering how I am a good mom…but I make mistakes. Many of them. Allowing my daughter to watch the Wiggles when I really know better than to allow a baby to watch TV really is not my best “mother of the year” moment. Thanks for the confessions. There’s mine! We’re all just trying our best. We’ve got to remember that when we think everyone else has it all together!

  2. I was off two days straight and had plans to sweep my floors, give the dogs baths, and other house chores. Instead I worked on sewing a quilt, and surfing the web. Never did any cleaning. 😦

  3. I once forgot my 6-year-old daughter at dance class. I was happily making supper and then her dance teacher called. I was like you, “Why would she be calling me now?” Oh, my. What a blow to my pride as I was striving to be the world’s greatest mother. I felt very sheepish walking into that building to pick up my little girl. “Everybody knows the truth!!!” I like the idea of giving ourselves a break. I read this quote today and loved it. I had to go get it off my fridge: “Forgiveness is the name of love practiced among people who love poorly. The hard truth is that all people love poorly. We need to forgive and be forgiven every day, every hour increasingly. That is the great work of love among the fellowship of the weak that is the human family.” (Henry Nouwen) The thing is that we’re not really a great example of God’s love. We can never do it anywhere close to how He does…BUT, we keep loving, making mistakes, asking for forgiveness and forgiving others…And, then, with His help, we do it…and it is GOOD, great even! Maybe we don’t need to be forgiven for eating a few chips 🙂 but we all know we make worse choices than that all the time. 😦 Thanks be to God for His generous mercy!

Join in the discussion!

