Around Here Right Now

Well, it’s been awhile since I’ve done one of these posts, so here’s a little bit of what we’re enjoying at our house these days:

1) Another photo wall!

I haven’t much effort into making our master bedroom look pretty, so I think it’s time to turn some attention to this poor, neglected room.

photo wall

I asked Ben if he inwardly groans when he comes home to see yet another wall filled with the now-familiar squares of paper which signal another photo wall.

He said no, but he does wish we could put one really big picture above our bed. I agree with him, but unfortunately, big is expensive, and photo walls are almost free! Once again, this one will use up frames and canvases that I already have around the house.

Thank goodness for a husband who doesn’t mind when I hang up millions of pictures.

And how many photo walls can one house have??! I have at least two more in mind…

2) Lisa Byrne’s new book, Replenish.

I was given an advanced copy to provide a review on Amazon before it’s published, and it is FANTASTIC. I am loving it. For any moms out there, definitely start thinking of buying this one when it comes out. I’ll be doing a review on my blog sometime soon.

3) Creamy Avocado and Rice Salad

I made this one up, which is highly unusual for me, but now I eat it all the time.

One day, I was craving, very specifically, some kind of nice, fresh salad for lunch. I wanted, very specifically, something crunchy, with rice in it, and some kind of creamy dressing to tie it all together. I searched for a very long time on Pinterest, and came up with nothing, which was quite disappointing.

Finally, I gave up in a huff, and thought, “Fine, I’ll make it up myself!!”

So I did.

salad

I mixed up 1 1/2 cups of rice, 1/2 a cucumber and 1 pepper, both cut into small pieces. For the “dressing”, I mixed 1/2 an avocado with a bit of lemon juice, salt, and basil.

Very fast, summery, and perfect for those times when, like me, you are craving something crunchy/creamy/rice-y.

4) Easiest-ever method for cleaning a glass cooktop.

I found this method on Pinterest, and it works very well, and is super easy.

stovetop

What are you enjoying around your house right now?

One thought on “Around Here Right Now

  1. No laughing! I’ve been enjoying cooking from scratch. It’s new for me but i absolutely love it. It’s less expensive. Sounds silly i know but it’s a new passion for me

Join in the discussion!

