35 Days of Favorites: Songs

Last year, I had a favorite secular song, and a favorite spiritual song. Without really trying, I find the same thing has happened this year.

When it comes to needing something happy and upbeat, our family has become a Taylor Swift family. Oh, my word, I would never have seen that one coming. But there it is. I wrote in fall about how our vacation song was We Are Never, Ever Getting Back Together, but right now, everybody’s favorite seems to be 22.

I never meant for this to happen. It’s Ben’s fault. Ben and that falsetto voice of his, belting out Taylor Swift, and our girls jumping around and singing along. And Anika, loudly singing, “It feels like the perfect night to dress up like hamsters”, instead of “hipsters”. Oops.

She also came up with a lovely version of Red, which she switched to Yellow, and made up with her own lyrics.

I was actually really sad that we didn’t go to Taylor Swift’s concert. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to go to a concert in my life before. I hardly feel like myself. What is up??

Anyway. 

On to the wholesome, serious stuff, if it’s even possible to write a blog post which includes Taylor Swift and a worship song.

My favorite worship song would absolutely have to be Bless the Lord, by Matt Redman. I love that song.

The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning
It’s time to sing Your song again
Whatever may pass, and whatever lies before me
Let me be singing when the evening comes

Oh, that last line – “Let me be singing when the evening comes.” No matter what.

It’s so fitting for what I’ve experienced in the last year, as I’ve been counting blessings and gifts from God. This year has been about learning to give thanks. “For all your goodness I will keep on singing. Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find.”

I hope I keep counting for the rest of my life. And I have a theme song now.

What’s your favorite song? Please share! We had so much fun checking out all of the suggestions last year!

5 thoughts on “35 Days of Favorites: Songs

  1. Hi Kendra, you should go see the Weibes in Winnipeg it’s a free concert and it is amazing. They were here at our church and St. Brice’s last week and it was an amazing concert. Shane was a Canadian Idol top 5 placer who has decided with his wife to dedicate their lives to Christian music. Their show is amazing.

    Winnipeg, Manitoba – Winnipeg Evangelical Free
    June 30th, 2013 10:00am
    500 Lagimodiere Blvd, Winnipeg, MB (204) 253-8464
    The Wiebes will be singing in the morning service, then returning for an evening concert

    Winnipeg, Manitoba – Winnipeg Evangelical Free
    June 30th, 2013 6:30pm
    500 Lagimodiere Blvd, Winnipeg, MB (204) 253-8464
    Free Concert (A love offering will be taken)

    • Thanks so much for passing on the info, Karrie! It sounds like a great even to go to – wish we could! We’re going camping this weekend, but it’s almost tempting to change our plans!!

  2. Oh man!!! I love this blog!! My favorite topic music! Ok so right now my favorite Christian songs are Redeemed by big daddy weave and On my knees but i don’t know who sings it but it’s really smooth and groovy lol. My kids also love we are never ever ever getting back together but my favorite song is just the way you are by bruno mars

Join in the discussion!

