Storing up Good Things in My Heart

Anika and I had a little talk the other day about complaining, and it was one of those talks when I needed to hear the words coming out of my mouth as much as she did…

She was telling me how hard it is to stop complaining. She said, “I try to stop the words from coming out of my mouth, but they just tumble out anyway!”

So often, I focus on trying to stop the words with my mouth, but what really needs to change is my heart. If my attitude and my thoughts were pure, I wouldn’t need to try so hard to keep my lips shut. I go after the symptoms, instead of the true root of the problem.

I told Anika about this verse:

A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of. (Luke 6:45)

I love that translation – what is my heart full of? What am I storing up in there?

I once read an illustration that has stuck with me: If you are pouring iced tea into a glass, and you fill it right to the top, iced tea is going to spill out – not water! It would be ridiculous to bump the glass, and be really surprised to see iced tea running over the edge. Iced tea goes in, iced tea comes out. Pretty basic.

If good things are going into my heart, it will be good things that come out, even when I get “bumped”.

Anika asked me how to store up good things, which is a good question. I’m still working on that one! Right now, I’m finding music, quiet times first thing in the morning, and my Happy Notebook are very useful.

Any other suggestions out there? How do you store up good things in your heart?

3 thoughts on “Storing up Good Things in My Heart

  1. “going after the symptoms instead of the true root of the problem” That is it exactly for me. Thank you for this reminder, Kendra.

Join in the discussion!

