Anika’s Birthday Favorites 2012

We have a birthday around here today, and we also have a tradition of making a list of favorites on everybody’s birthdays.
Here is Anika’s List:

Breakfast: pancakes, sausage, oatmeal

Lunch: Shepherd’s Pie

Supper: Mashed Potatoes, Beef, Peas

Dessert: Chocolate Bean Cake

Things to Do: Polly Pockets

Toys: Barbies, Lego,  Play Mobil

Books: Mandie Books

Thing to Wear: Blue Dress

Color: Blue and Purple

What do you want to do for a job when you grow up? Be an author and an artist

My Favorite Things About Anika:

I love how she takes care of Kaylia. They definitely have their fights, but I love seeing how they also want to be together so much. Every morning, Kaylia wakes up and says, “Anika, can I come up and ‘nuggle you?” And then she climbs into Anika’s top bunk, and they cuddle for awhile.

I love the talks we have at night. She saves all her big, serious questions for those cozy times in bed. We talk it all out, and then she’s ready to let go of the day.

I love her love for books. Because Ben and I both love to read, and both dream of publishing books someday, it gives us great joy to see Anika enjoying books so much.
I love her imagination and creativity. I am constantly amazed by the way her mind works. Oh, for the wisdom to guide and channel that passion in the right way!

I love her strength and determination.It’s been a bit of a tough year for Anika. In our efforts to get her digestive system working properly, she’s had to stop eating certain foods for specific amounts of time as we tried to pinpoint what exactly was bothering her. We finally narrowed it down to gluten, and she hasn’t eaten it since last Christmas. I know this has been very difficult for her at times, but I also know that she feels so much better, she usually doesn’t want to eat it.

But I’m sure it must be tough to be a kid, watching everyone else eating chocolate cupcakes, and not eating any herself. Her nightly stomachaches are gone, and although she misses her old favorite treats, her willpower, self-control, and attitude have made me proud.

Photos by Morgan Braun

And now, it is time for me to go celebrate with my girlies, which I’m sure will include some Barbies and Polly Pockets. May your day be as enjoyable!

One thought on “Anika’s Birthday Favorites 2012

Join in the discussion!

