This is My Moment

I’ve been thinking a lot about trying to intentionally recognize the joy of a moment.

I recently read this post by Ann Voskamp, and it’s just stayed with me. She tells an amazing story about how one man decided to help people realize they were living in a joyful moment.

It’s funny how easy it is to get so busy, we miss the joy in the moment.

The other afternoon, I took the girls outside for a walk. We went exploring in the bush, and they just wanted to keep going and going. They were so excited to see where the path would lead.

It was one of those perfect afternoons. It was beautiful and sunny, and that thick snow was covering absolutely everything.

And suddenly, I realized, this is one of those perfectly joyful moments.

For right now, everything is just right, and I wouldn’t change one single thing.

But it seems as though every moment of enjoying beauty out here is quickly followed by sadness for me, because the end is coming so soon.This is our very last winter living in this wonderland, being surrounded by all this beauty every single day.

And that thought completely killed my moment.

Which led me to realize the foolishness in thinking that way. Why would I allow worries about the future cloud the joy of this moment right now?

 

Take it and run with it! Don’t worry about tomorrow. Or next year. Even if it means a winter apart from all this beauty.

Soak in the smiles, and the flopping into soft snow, and the excitement of the next bend in the snowy path.

This is my joyful moment. I will choose to let it linger, and remember it forever.

2 thoughts on “This is My Moment

  1. Kendra, you will find the joy and beauty in new moments and places. I understand the sadness but, the joy is there no matter where you are! You will see it. Thank you for this post. The photos are beautiful and the reminder profound.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Karrie! And you are right – there is always beauty and joy to be found in everything, including new adventures!

Join in the discussion!

