An Afternoon at the Beach

I love the beach. I really, really love the beach.

It doesn’t actually make sense, because I’m not the hugest fan of swimming, and I don’t really like being hot, and I don’t like being cold. I don’t like being wet, either. (Picky, I know! I’m usually just happiest when I’m the perfect temperature, and dry.)

But I love the beach. When I am at the beach, suddenly I love being in the water, and I love being hot from the sun, and I can endure being cold after I swim, and I don’t pay attention to the fact that I’m wet.

I don’t really know when I fell in love with the beach, because as a kid, we did not spend a lot of time there. But as an adult, I have come to realize that a trip to Florida to visit my parents is not complete unless we’ve spent an afternoon at the beach.

There is just something about that endless blue. Blue, blue, everywhere you look, and happy, smiling faces on my sand-covered family.

I thought at one point that this would be one Florida trip which would (sadly) not include the beach or even a glimpse at the ocean.

But then, our sweet friends, Jill and David Tree, ( who live near Fort Lauderdale) invited us over for the weekend, which included…the beach! (Among other fun things!) A visit to the Tree household and a visit to the beach, all in one weekend? Perfect.

So on Saturday afternoon, Jill joined us for an afternoon that would have to be one of my favorites of our whole time out here…

The girls had so much fun, and Jill (one of my favorite photographers ever!), took my camera for the afternoon and gave me the gift of a ton of pictures.

The rest of the weekend was also a lot of fun, but I didn’t take any pictures. David and Jill were kind, patient, and gracious with this little group of girls badly in need of Ben! They helped out so much with Anika and Kaylia, and I had such a good time talking and hanging out with them. The morning after we got back to my parents’, Anika was still sitting in bed when she gave a big, contented sigh, and said, “I love Auntie Jill and Uncle David!”

Kaylia was also won over completely, and demonstrated it by having a full-blown tantrum because she couldn’t go to the grocery store with David. True devotion, right there.

So there you have it…Our most recent vacation accomplishments: Beach, check. Gazing at the ocean, check. Visit to Jill and David’s, check.

All I have left to do is pack up…

Join in the discussion!

