What Living at Camp Has Taught Me About the Great Outdoors

It’s kind of ironic that I’m writing this post right now, when we spent the day inside yesterday. Normally we don’t do that, but 36 degrees? It was too hot even for the beach. I didn’t want to toast my children to a crisp.

And really…. sometimes it’s nice to take a break from the beach. I love being down there, but I don’t want to get tired of it. So we stayed home for a change.

The wonderful thing about that is that it felt very strange to be inside on a beautiful, sunny day. It felt like a waste of sunshine. Since coming to camp, my attitude about being outside has changed a lot. At camp, we go outside. Even in winter, we go outside every day, no matter how cold it is.

At camp, we have learned to go to the lake when it’s hot, and to put on (many) more layers when it’s cold. And then regardless of the temperature, we go and have fun. (Except on days when it’s 36 degrees outside, apparently.)

Before moving to camp, my life was getting far too comfortable. I enjoyed being the perfect temperature, all the time. If I didn’t like the temperature outside, I stayed inside. When I was home with Anika after she was born, there were many days when I didn’t go outside at all. Now, that sounds really gross to me. Now I crave fresh air. It actually really bothers me every time I have to close the windows, and turn the air conditioner on, because then I can’t hear the noises of camp, or feel the breeze coming in, or lie in bed and listen to the loons out on the lake. I feel shut off from the outside, and I don’t like that.

I never used to be that way. I’m liking it. I like being surrounded by people who are choosing to have fun at camp, regardless of the weather. Winter has become fun. The more snow, the better. And summer is what we live for. Sunshine makes the biggest difference in our lives now. If we stay inside for too long, people start to think that something’s wrong – we must be sick if we’re not going outside.

I like that, too.

I like it that Kaylia asks to go outside first thing in the morning, when we’re still in our pajamas. I like it that we actually own clothing from MEC. I like to pretend that we’re getting all rugged and outdoorsy. We have a long way to go on that one. But we’re closer than we used to be!

 

One thought on “What Living at Camp Has Taught Me About the Great Outdoors

  1. It did feel really strange to be inside yesterday, hey? We did the same thing and it just felt wrong…but when I would go outside to see if we possibly could stand it for awhile…I realized just how ridiculous it would be to spend time out there. Today though, we’re going outside and crossing fingers that the mosquitoes are not horrible because it’s not sunny! I too have had to learn how to enjoy the great outdoors. I have a long way to go, but I’m getting there! šŸ™‚

Join in the discussion!

