More Isn’t Always Better…

More isn’t always better – sometimes it’s just more.

That’s a quote from Sabrina, one of my favorite movies, and one that you should totally watch if you haven’t, and if you like cheesy, romantic, chick-flicky type movies.

Anyway. I thought of that quote today when we got Anika’s old dollhouse out of our shed. Kaylia is now the proud new owner, and she was in her glory.

All day long. That’s all she played with.

At first, Ben didn’t get any of the furniture out, just the dollhouse, and that was enough for Kaylia. She found all her little dolls, and sat there playing for the longest time with a bare, empty dollhouse. She was so happy, that I didn’t even give her the furniture once the box arrived inside, because I figured she could keep having fun just the way she was for awhile.

I wanted to give it to her, and just overwhelm her with fun things, but she was so happy with a lot less.

More isn’t always better – sometimes it’s just more.

Anika eventually found the box of furniture, and helped Kaylia empty everything out, and the fun continued for hours. I’ll let her keep the furniture! But it was a nice reminder to keep things simple.

Sometimes we can be perfectly happy with the things we already have. Actually, we could be happy with a lot less.

2 thoughts on “More Isn’t Always Better…

  1. Kendra, that is so true! I have the saddest feeling when I see kids’ rooms nowadays. Going back to my childhood…I had one doll/paper dolls, rubber ball, a few games, coloring book/crayons, a small accordian, a swing in the basement, some beautiful colored glass pieces for hopscotch, a tricycle, 2-wheeled wagon, sandbox, and then of course…the garden swing. I WAS NOT DEPRIVED!! Kaylia’s favorite toy in Florida this past winter was a neon colored golf ball; Anika’s was a rubber ball and an empty bin…I’m considering getting rid of the rest of the toys!!!

Join in the discussion!

