Ode to Ben

Yesterday was my wonderful husband’s birthday. And we got to go out on a birthday date! It was quite exciting, because we haven’t been out in a looooong time. Date nights usually mean putting the girls to bed, and having a quiet evening at home. We were pretty excited about being able to go see a movie (Fair Game) and grab a snack at Montana’s (Sweet Potato Fries), both of which were extremely enjoyable.

And just being with Ben is enjoyable, whatever we’re doing. Really, he is my most favorite person to spend time with. And I’m not just saying that because I’m writing this on my blog. Anyone who knows him knows how much fun he is. He makes me laugh all the time, and he’s also the best listener ever. He is very wise, but he waits and listens, and shares his thoughts sparingly – so that by the time he opens his mouth to speak, you know that whatever comes out will be good.

So once again, an evening spent with Ben meant lots of good conversation and uninterrupted time with my favorite person. I know that he doesn’t like birthdays because he doesn’t like the thought of getting old, but I don’t really think that Ben will ever really be “old”. He will always be silly and “young at heart” and tons of fun, and I feel extremely blessed to be able to be his wife!

3 thoughts on “Ode to Ben

  1. Happy One-Day-Post-Birthday Ben!! So glad you guys could have a rare all alone date night!! Trev and I think very highly of you two! Ben you are a really fantastic guy whom we love spending time with, playing games with, talking about pretty much anything with, praying with and living in community together! Here’s to you! Happy Birthday Ben!
    Trev and Terra-Lee

Join in the discussion!

