Homeschool

We started school on Monday, and it was…interesting.

Because of our location, we have to homeschool, which is fine – I love doing it! Anika just started Grade 2, and we’re having a lot of fun. But this is our first year doing homeschooling with another little person around and into EVERYTHING.

Last year, Kaylia napped every morning, and we could still peacefully make our way through Grade 1. This year, I don’t think there will be anything “peaceful” about school.

While Anika and I read stories about Russia, Kaylia trashed Anika’s bedroom. While Anika and I colored and made a poster, Kaylia threw markers all over the floor, and emptied out half the craft cabinet. Finally I stuck her in her high chair and fed her as many crackers as possible…right before lunch.

Right. Those crackers were her lunch.

Anyway. I think I’m going to learn some new lessons this year. Anika will be learning Grade 2 stuff, and I will be learning flexibility, creativity, and patience.

When people think of “homeschooling”, they often think of those families with 7 kids who live on a farm and do all the chores in addition to homeschooling, keeping the house clean, baking homemade bread, and constantly doing crafts.

I am not that kind of mom. I feel like a bit of a wimp sometimes because 2 kids can get me so frazzled. And I never bake my own bread. Even a bread machine takes too much effort.

But that is okay, because we will do things in the way that is best for our own little family.

This year will not be like last year, but I am looking forward to it. It will be stretching, and my goal is to enjoy the way our family is right now. Kaylia is busy, and it is fun. Anika is curious and always asking questions, and that is fun, too.

So we’ll see how that goes! Here’s a picture of our first day of school:

One thought on “Homeschool

  1. You are super mom, Kendra. You’re doing such a good job being positive in the midst of stress. We all have it…those with one kid, those with four, and those with 19. Don’t belittle what you’ve got going on. Way to love those girls of yours. They always look so content and taken care of. And, I don’t think baking bread is the mark of success. 🙂 It’s the smiles on those girls faces and the love in their hearts!!!

Join in the discussion!

