Open My Eyes

On Wednesday, I was officially freed from having to wear glasses while driving.

My driver’s license now indicates that I am driving “unaided”. You bet I am! And it feels super weird!!

I don’t really understand how this works, but apparently my eye sight has been improving gradually over the years, and the lady who tested my eyes today was completely amazed – she said I have almost 20/20 vision!

What??! Awesome!

But here’s the thing – I’ve never actually sat around wishing for better eye sight. And yet, a friend of ours just went through the nasty-looking procedure of laser eye surgery. It looked fairly unpleasant from my perspective, as we watched him recover. No, thank you.

He’s willing to go through pain, discomfort, and lots of money to get 20/20 vision, and that little miracle was just plopped in my lap without me ever really specifically wanting it. And yet there are many other things that I’ve prayed a long time for, and don’t know if I’ll ever get.

Isn’t life a funny thing?

So when I hear about someone receiving an awesome blessing, or some exciting answer to prayer, and it’s something I really wish God would bless me with, I’m reminding myself that we all have different stories. God is taking each of us down different paths.

We can’t go down the path someone else is being led down. We just have to trust that God’s got good things for us, too. And I think we need to be super sensitive to what He’s doing, even if it’s unexpected. I want to be thankful for whatever good things come my way.

things we take forgrantedsource

We say “thanks” for the good stuff, and hold our earthly wishes lightly….

One thought on “Open My Eyes

  1. Wow! That’s so amazing! I’m so happy for you, Kendra! I have an inside pair and an outside one plus sunglasses!!! We all sure do have different aches and pains butalso very different joys and blessings!Love, A. Nettie Date: Fri, 7 Mar 2014 14:37:36 +0000 To: nettieb34@hotmail.com

Join in the discussion!

